Posted by: Pavel Ermakov | May 10, 2012

Resolving *** CLI error: MTDP: EM_NOHOST(224): name not in HOSTS file or names database

Hello.

Recently I’ve started learning Teradata DB. So, first I wanted to install Teradata DB 🙂 I’ve downloaded Teradata Express 13 version for Windows 32 bit. I’ve installed BYNET driver, Database and Express tools (Teradata Service Control and etc) and other tools: BTEQ, Fastload,Multiload and other.

So, when I tried to logon to DB using BTEQ I’ve got following error:

C:\PaulEr>bteq

Teradata BTEQ 13.00.00.03 for WIN32.
Copyright 1984-2009, Teradata Corporation. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.
Enter your logon or BTEQ command:
.logon dbc

.logon dbc
Password:
*** CLI error: MTDP: EM_NOHOST(224): name not in HOSTS file or names database.

*** Return code from CLI is: 224
*** Error: Logon failed!

I’ve started reading documentation and Internet. And I found solution! 🙂

Add this entry to your hosts file:

IP-address dbccop1

dbc – name of DB.

As you can see, you have to add “cop1” to your DB name – like loopback adapter.

Hope this helps!

Regards,
Pavel.

Responses

  1. can you please share the details of the files as its bit unclear what needs to be entered in the host file

  2. Hi,

    I am also facing this same issue.
    Could you please let me know that where is this hosts file present ?

  3. Hi!
    Have a look at /etc/hosts file.


Leave a Reply

Categories

